My husband and I, at the end of our “first” dance.

I’m providing an about page, but my expected audience… is just me!  So I’ll log some thoughts here which can allow me to see snapshots of myself (especially self-reflection), and see how I grow and if this page is dynamic or static as the years pass.

As I write this, I have just turned 27 (mere weeks ago).  I gotta tell you, I don’t feel 27!  But I don’t feel early-20’s either.  I’m comfortable with 25.  I currently work for a utility construction company – but make no mistake construction is foreign to me!  I work at the corporate office assisting with estimating and software support.  Last year I married an amazing man – and know a love like I’ve never experienced.  The kind of love you build a life on: few doubts, lots of heart.  He’ll get his own posts, I’m sure.  Before we married we bought a house on an acre of land together in verging-on-rural Pennsylvania.  We have no relatives out here, as both Chris and myself grew up in the Midwest, where our parents still remain.  We have two dogs and a cat (they’ll got posts, too, no doubt).  I’d call it a simple life, and very much a stereotypical one.  I’d guess it’s ‘traditional’ because so many people elect to follow it, and I’d wager many people do find they enjoy it: college, marriage, salaries, pets, mortgage.. I know I do!


One of my best friends, Heather, and myself in VEGAS!

Less so about my environment, and more so about me:  Man, I am not always an easy human being (thank all the forces in this universe that my husband is a kind, understanding man!).  I am stubborn, I am passionate, and I am fairly confident.  When I like something, I like it A LOT.  I think I have great communication skills, and hate using them.  I am not so good with emotions – they’re much easier to let fade into memory, than confront head on.  Speaking of which, I tend to have poor short-term memory.  I am a crazy cat lady with two dogs.  I love St. Louis, MO – the city I grew up outside.  I love the sports, I love the tourist attractions, I love the rolling hills of Missouri (where I got married!).  I love my college, Purdue, and take a lot of pride having survived obtaining an aerospace engineering bachelor’s degree there.  I loved working at Purdue as a student adviser for First Year Engineering students.  I am certain that is where my life’s passions truly lie.  I love Hello Kitty, and collecting chachkies.  I love to read, I love yellow vehicles (had an ’02 Mustang, then ’03 Celica, BRIGHT yellow).  I prefer stick-shift cars to automatic.  I love cows and fat, orange tabby cats.  There’s a lot of love in my life, for and from people, places, and things.  I find it very easy to be happy.

As we’ve covered where my head and life are at, I’ll address where I’ve been.  I was born in Alabama, but only remained there a few years before my father moved us to England through his work.  We were in England for only a year, though I still have some memories of friends and neighbors.  I started kindergarten in Virginia, outside of Washington D.C., where our family remained for 2 more years and my little sister was born!  The summer before third grade I moved outside St. Louis, MO, where I spent the remainder of my childhood.  As mentioned, I went to college in Purdue, on the main campus, in Indiana.  I spent one semester in Graduate school at the University of Illinois Champaign – Urbana (my parents’ alma mater), before accepting a job in New Mexico.  I stayed in New Mexico for a year before transferring within my company to Pittsburgh, PA.  I was there a year before I moved outside Philadelphia to shack up with my boyfriend.  We spent less than a year in a townhouse before purchasing our first home (fiance, by then!), where we reside now, with our furbabies.


Christmas card photo shoot, 2017.